Georgia Pharmacy Technician Requirements and Regulations

The Georgia Board of Pharmacy oversees the licensing of pharmacy technicians in Georgia. Technicians are encouraged to complete a PTCB training course. Once approved, they must wear a tag identifying their role in the pharmacy.

To prepare for the PTCB exam and obtain a pharmacy tech license, candidates must register with the Georgia Board of Pharmacy, pay the application fee, and submit the necessary documents.

Due to high competition, candidates are encouraged to apply promptly to meet the growing demand in this profession.

Number of Pharmacy Technicians

  • Total: Data not specified.

Minimum Age Requirement

  • Candidates must be at least 17 years old.

Education Requirements

  • A high school diploma or GED is required.

Certification Requirements

  • PTCB certification is not required to practice in Georgia but is recommended for better employment opportunities.

Background Checks

  • Candidates must undergo a thorough criminal background check.

Registration and Licensing

  • No, registration with the Georgia Board of Pharmacy is not required.
  • It is recommended that candidates pursue PTCB certification to enhance their employability.

Continuing Education Requirements

  • 20 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years.
  • 1 hour must be in pharmacy law.
  • 1 hour must be in patient safety.
  • PTCB continuous education fee: $40 every two years.

Technician Representation on Board

  • No, Pharmacy Technicians are not represented on the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy.

Average Salary

  • $15.04/hr

Notes

  • PTCB Free Practice Test ensures all information related to pharmacy tech licensing in Georgia is accurate and up-to-date. However, candidates should verify the latest regulations and requirements with the Georgia Board of Pharmacy.
Share your love